Recording Information

Fees are governed by Wisconsin Statutes, the flat fee structure is effective June 25, 2010. 

Legal instruments such as warranty deeds, quit claim deeds, etc., that convey title from one property owner to a new owner, are usually drafted by attorneys, or paralegals or legal secretaries under the supervision of an attorney.

Contact your attorney to determine the appropriate deed for your situation, the Register of Deeds staff cannot provide legal advice.

The entire document must be legible and black or blue ink must be used so that the document will scan properly.

The grantor and grantee (seller and buyer) must be identified on the deed. The grantor's signature which has been notarized, and a legal description of the property being conveyed must be on the deed. The return address of the person who is to receive the deed after it has been recorded is required. The parcel identification number, found on the property tax bill, must be placed on the document under the return address. Only the original deed with original signatures may be recorded with the Register of Deeds-- not photocopies.

The moment that a correctly prepared deed is handed from one owner to the next is the moment of actual conveyance. It is wise to protect your interest by recording the deed with the Register of Deeds.

An Electronic Transfer return receipt must accompany most conveyance and correction documents for it to be recorded in the office of the Register of Deeds. The Transfer Return must be filled out entirely, the fee to be paid (if any) calculated and the recording fee must accompany the deed when you submit it for recording. See guidelines at the Wisconsin Department of Revenue website.

If you have any questions regarding filling out the deed form, contact your attorney.

Documents are accepted for recording Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.


  •  Recorded documents will be returned to sender or designee. 
  • All documents with the exception of plats have a flat recording fee of $30.00. 
  • Note: a maximum size sheet is 8 ½ X 14.
  •  Copies of recorded documents are $2.00 for the first page and $1.00 for each additional page and $1.00 for the certification if a certified copy is requested.


  •  Recorded plats are not returned to sender.
  •  Subdivision plats are $50.00
  •  Cemetery plats are $50.00
  •  Condominium plats are $50.00
  •  Effective January 1, 2006 Jefferson County has implemented a condominium review fee of $50.00


  •  Federal tax liens and releases, certified surveys, filed documents for which no other fee is specified in Wis. Statutes are $30.00.
  • Copies of filed documents are $2.00 for the first page and $1.00 for each additional page, and $1.00 for certification if a certified copy is requested.
  • The original filed document is always retained in this office.


  •  A transfer form and fee or exemption number is required for all conveyances EXCEPT when exemptions 1, 2, 4 and 11 apply.
  •  The transfer tax form is to be completed electronically effective July 1, 2009.
  • Current rate of fee is $.30 per $100 or $3.00 per $1000 of value rounded off to the next higher hundred.
  •  Deeds in fulfillment of a land contract dated prior to 12/17/71 require no fee and are exempt by Stats. 77.25(1).
  • Deeds in fulfillment of a land contract dated 12/17/71 to 8/31/81 inclusive are computed at $.10 per $100 or $1.00 per $1000 of value rounded off to the next higher hundred.
  •  Conveyances dated 9/1/81 or thereafter are computed at $.30 per $100 or $3.00 per $1000 of value rounded off to the next higher hundred.
  • Effective April 29, 1994 all returns must state the value in dollars of the real property conveyed (except transfer returns claiming exemptions 3 or 10.)


  1. Legible print or typing. Faded material or too small a print does not reproduce well and will be rejected.
  2. Correct legal description of the property and PIN numbers.
  3. If document is a conveyance or an encumbrance, identify property as homestead or non-homestead.
  4. Grantor signatures should agree with names in body of document.
  5. Name of person who drafted the document.
  6. Execution date and date acknowledged or authenticated.
  7. Notary Public signature, seal and expiration date OR authenticator signature.
  8. Names inserted in acknowledgment or authentication.
  9. Corporate seal, if applicable.
  10. Name, address and zip code on FRONT of document or person to whom document is to be returned.
  11. Black  or blue ink must be used when drafting a document.
  12. Recordable format must be used as stated in 1995 Wisconsin act 110.
    1. Title within 3" of top. Black or blue ink must be used when drafting a document.
    2. 1" X 3" space on upper left hand corner for document number
    3. 3" X 3" recording area-upper right hand corner of document
    4.  8 1/2 X 11 or 14 paper size
    5. Sides and bottom must have 1/4 inch margins
    6. White Paper
    7. No hinged pages
    8. 1/2" top margin

 Tract Index

Jefferson County Register of Deeds Office implemented an automated tract index effective November 11, 2009.  Previously documents were accepted for recording that were sufficient for indexing in a grantor/grantee system, but may not have permitted "ready entry" into a tract index system as per x.706.05.  Each parcel must include one of the following:

  •  Official name of plat as reflected on the original plat and lot, block, outlot or unit within the plat. If a parcel includes part of a lot or lots within a plat, a statement is needed to show the lots/blocks to which the description pertains.

 Example: A parcel of land being part of Lot 6 in Air View Estates described as follows...                         

  •  Certified Survey Map number and lot or outlot number
  • A statement indicating the section, town, range and quarter section in which the parcel is located. The statement could precede the "commencing at" description or follow it. This is needed even if the "commencing at" description references a starting point in a quarter section and section, town and range because the parcel could be located in a different quarter section and section, town and range than what is indicated as the starting point.

 Example:  A parcel of land located in the NE ¼ of Section 1, Town 5 North, Range 13 East, described as follows...